Some cool statistics

x
hours to expertise (gladwell, 'outliers')
x
hours worked as digital designer
x
hours in studio, making stuff
x
age i sold my first piece
x
age of retirement

Hi, hello! I'm Meg Askey, and I created this website and all of the artwork you see here.

I live in Austin, Texas, USA. Everything you have heard about Austin is true -- it's a wonderful place and we say "y'all" constantantly and unironically. I wasn't born here, but Texans seem to be ok with me staying as long as I want. I live by the lake, own a Standard poodle named Reginald Sterling Furlongcurly, and we spend our free time having adventures.

It's taken many years, but my artwork is now fully integrated into my life, and my life into my artwork. What I mean is, I wake up, work my day job designing and maintaining websites, walk or swim with Little Reginald while collecting rocks and found objects, return to my day job, create artwork from the aforementioned found objects, snuggle with Little Reginald, watch movies, sleep, repeat.

And now, I'm seeking representation and I think I found it. What that means for you is that this website will become a hub for (professional!) photos of my artwork, a shopping cart, and lots of blog posts from me. Don't worry, I'll try to keep them short and sweet.

Seriously? You Want To Read More? Okay ...
Listen, peeps, I write about things of note, and of no note. If you enjoy this kind of blither-blather, oh wowie, are you in for a treat.
September 15th, 2019
September 20th, 2019 I get inspired
I tried to love being with people, but I had to drink too much alcohol to make it bearable. Now I just write about stuff and hope someone will read it and decide to tolerate me IRL.
March 4th, 2019
I couldn't pass a physics class if the quantum universe depended on it. But I like hearing about science stuff, and sharing stuff with y'allz will happen.
October 1st, 2019